What are the 5Rhythms?

“The 5Rhythms – Flowing Staccato Chaos Lyrical Stillness® – are states of Being. They are a map to everywhere we want to go, on all planes of consciousness – inner and outer, forward and back, physical, emotional and intellectual. They are markers on the way back to a real self, a vulnerable, wild passionate, instinctive self.”
Gabrielle Roth

5Rhythms is a dynamic, moving meditation practice—a practice of being in your body—that ignites creativity, connection, and community. While a seemingly simple process, the 5Rhythms practice facilitates deep and unending explorations, moving the dancer beyond self-imposed limitations and isolation into new depths of creativity and connection. Created by Gabrielle Roth and practiced by tens of thousands worldwide, 5Rhythms® is rooted in the principle that if you put the psyche in motion it will heal itself. Movement is both the medicine and the metaphor, reaching across all languages, cultures and age groups, to transform suffering into art, art into awareness, and awareness into action.



In Flow, we practice the art of being fluid with ourselves and in our bodies.



In Staccato we practice focus, being clear.



In Chaos, we practice letting go and surrendering to our creativity.



In Lyrical we practice effortlessness.



In Stillness we practice emptying and doing nothing.

More About Gabrielle Roth and the 5Rhythms

Gabrielle traveled the world for 40+ years of her life, leading workshops for tens of thousands of people searching to release their hearts and minds through their bodies. You can read more about her life and work here.